The one about stories + closure…

Hey there it’s been a minute….

Welcome to the random corner… the good random 😊 because honestly, I am happy about this post.

So, I challenged two of my friends to respond with a poem to words by Rupi Kaur from her New York Times bestseller poetry book titled The sun and Her Flowers.

PS: They all sent in their responses in less than 7minutes or so and I totally loved the quick response and different perspectives we all had responding to these words below.

β€œwhy is it

that when the story ends

we begin to feel all of it” ~Rupi Kaur

Excerpt From The Sun and Her Flowers

The end of a story is like a wound…

You begin to feel the pain after the source has been removed..

This is why every journey in our lives sticks with us because stories have no true ending within us,

while the story site remains behind, every word/event tags along, at least for a while.”

~Mapesho O.Kabuka

Every word carries with it an emotion.

Words transformed into feelings, we choose how to interpret them.

Every moment a sight to see

Until there’s nothing more to behold

but after we all leave

the laughter lingers on,

the murmuring lingers on,

the voices linger on and all the loud and empty sighs linger on

I realized our hearts always have an ending to every story, but as long as it beats, it will continue creating songs inspired by the story”

~Naomi N. Besa

I have been told that things never last..,

Whether bad or good everything does come to an end.

You’ll forgive me but I must say this was a terrible thing to learn, cause this statement robbed me of the opportunity to feel, to dream… to appreciate.

So in every beautiful moment my heart is weighed down from the thoughts that β€œthis” will soon come to an end.

So forgive me if I fall in love and all I do is worry about when it’s going to end, how it’s going to end…

I’m scared of it all, so every argument, every miscommunication, all I see is this is β€œit.”

And when it finally does end,

I feel it all, how this human made my life brighter, how I loved to be in their presence, how life was so much easier with them in it.

So please stop it! Don’t tell people that things never last, you steal their ability to feel, to dream… to appreciate.”

~Katayi R. Kafwamfwa


β€œi tried to find it

but there was no answer

at the end of the last conversation

– closure”

Excerpt From

The Sun and Her Flowers- Rupi Kaur

Response πŸ‘‡πŸ½πŸ‘‡πŸ½πŸ‘‡πŸ½πŸ‘‡πŸ½πŸ‘‡πŸ½πŸ‘‡πŸ½πŸ‘‡πŸ½

“I found it

but then it betrayed me because at the end of the line I was the one regretting having known it even if it was just for a little while”

“you are just an elusion you are a chase after the wind”

~ Mapesho Kabuka

It’s often said that, trying to find closure on certain things is a scam… is it?

What do y’all think? if you could respond or write something on it what would that be? Let me know in the comments if you can

πŸ“Έ credit: Unsplash

7 thoughts on “The one about stories + closure…

  1. β€œI tried to find it, but there was no answer at the last conversation” – Rupi Kaur.

    … went through old texts and emails
    Listened to every voice note
    Replayed every conversation from
    Tried to flip it this way and that
    But none of it explained how I had missed it
    How I thought we were on the same page
    The smiles exchanged held no contempt
    How could you have hidden so much behind those eyes
    We swore we wouldn’t have any secrets
    Atleast I shared all of mine
    How could I have known you guarded yours like a gold bar
    Kept in the safest place of your heart
    A place I’ve apparently never been.

    β€œWhy is it
    That when the story ends
    We begin to feel all of it” – Rupi Kaur

    Your absence reminds me of loss
    Of dreams and visions unfulfilled
    How can all our effort come to naught
    Reduced to nothing less than a memory
    The annoying part is I should have known
    Seen it when your eyes evaded mine
    And you changed your cologne
    To hide the smell of betrayal
    The scent of beautiful red roses
    Is a thorn in my flesh
    Forever a reminder of your fickle heart.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. πŸ’ƒπŸΎπŸ’ƒπŸΎπŸ’ƒπŸΎπŸ’ƒπŸΎπŸ’ƒπŸΎ happy dance!! Please somebody give me my dancing shoes, or else I’ll scratch the floor πŸ˜ƒ

        Thank you so much for sharing Frances ❀️

        Like

Leave a comment